Filed under

Wang Xiao Bo Hong Kong Exhibition Photos

Art Futures Group與王曉勃對談

 

1. 是次展覽展示出了你最新繪畫作品,包括《尋找光明》和《沉浮》系列,這兩系列是從何構想出來,想藉此表達甚麼信息?
《尋找光明》系列借用孩子的視角來尋找光明,體現新生個體對真理、希望的渴望,這也是我內心的表達:畫畫了這些年,始終保持著一種隨心的尋覓。 《沉浮》系列則是更具社會屬性的一種表達,人生總是跌宕起伏的,借用胖子的詼諧笑看這起起伏伏,體現社會與自我的關係,更是對人生哲學的一種呈現。

 

2. 您的創作不斷地推陳出新,由早期作品如《顛倒的女人》、《顛倒的男人》、《兩個人的世界》,風格寫實但題材較為叛逆和凝重,到後來的《女王》、《垂簾幽夢》和《若如初見》,變成利用抽象繪畫配合具象語境、調侃幽默的風格作品。來到現今的最新系列《尋找光明》和《沉浮》,在題材選擇和風格詮釋上跟以往有甚麼不同?你如何定義這兩個新系列的作品呢?
現在的畫風更注重畫面的繪畫感,早期則更注重細節的處理。我認為對畫法上的概括與氣息是更難把握的事情,我對在畫面上把握概括和氣息的自信還不足夠,,所以我會用描繪細節的手法去打造畫面,從而彌補年輕的稚嫩;到了四十不惑的年齡,靠長時間的積累和存續,我對掌控畫面和把握概括性更有信心,作品的風格自然更概括和灑脫了。

《尋找光明》和《沉浮》兩個系列和過去的作品一樣,著重關注人文哲學。早期《顛倒的女人》更具有反叛精神,我對更喜歡用畫筆去批判看到的不公及壓迫;《兩個人世界》時期則是我人生階段的婚姻期,對兩個人的生活總是有探索與好奇,自然熱於研究兩個人的生活狀態。

到現在的《尋找光明》,我已為人父,有了兩個孩子,看到孩子的成長歷程能讓我更親近的洞察孩子的童年以及反思我個人童年的成長總結,孩子總是對萬物好奇,對未來存有強烈的希望,這也是人類演變至今的共有屬性;《沉浮》系列也是我對自己前半生對於人生價值的評判、社會對我的影響以及借用胖子隱喻我對社會的期待,這系列更具人文哲學的研究性。

總之《沉浮》和《尋找光明》延續了我對人文文化的剖析,創作這兩個系列也是我的藝術創作生涯中針對人文哲學探討的重要階段,我透過關注自我生活與社會的關係,更深入觸摸到人生的本真。

 

3.《尋找光明》和《沉浮》可以說是您繪畫上的一次革新,為甚麼會有這個轉變?轉變之間你有經歷過甚麼困難嗎?當時是如何調適過來?
如果說革新不如說是挖掘,看似的變化不如說還是對始終人性的挖掘,看似寫實變為寫意不如說是探索變為自信,在如果說轉變我認為更像蛻變。這個轉變就是我的成熟,是我人生經歷的體驗,它很真實,可以觸摸得到的真實,我總有種瓜熟蒂落的感悟。但是我相信每一個藝術家面對自己的蛻變都要經歷艱難的掙扎,就像蝶蛹托變成蝴蝶,更需要用盡全力去擺脫蛹殼。藝術家是孤獨的,藝術道路只有自己尋覓,每一個藝術家都沒人可複制性的指引,但藝術道路終究需要蛻變與發展,這也許就是人類社會藝術階層的魅力與呼喚吧,它總是那麼讓人敬畏。

 

4. 儘管題材不同,唯一不變的是您喜歡以人物為作品的主要元素,您為什麼對繪畫人物情有獨鍾?希望透過它訴說甚麼樣的故事?
表達人文情懷用人物做元素再適合不過了,胖子、兩個人、小孩子,這都是我的借喻元素,有了他們我可以在人與社會、自我成長中做自由且充分的表達。我從中央美院一工作室畢業後就滿懷著人文精神扎到了我的職業生涯,這是我的藝術經歷的成長線索,是我的人生觀。

 

5. 您師從靳尚誼、朱乃正和楊飛雲,上一輩的藝術家對你繪畫、人生有甚麼影響?
從師三位先生,可以說他們代表了中國油畫人物的全面最高水平,從表象的技能到繪畫體系的把握再到做人的態度我都學到很多,他們的風格各有不同,但是他們在用繪畫描述自己人文哲學,這個規律性的研究自然帶到了我的繪畫發展上,受益頗深。最大的特點他們認同並主張用傳承的方法去求變,在繪畫上反對無邏輯的自由,反對無病呻吟的自我表達,這一直影響著我,叫我在藝術道路上走的安心!

 

6. 最近,您的新家受到很多媒體關注。俱備藝術氣息和溫暖且透過創意和藝術,成功把家庭生活和藝術創作合二為一。當初為甚麼會有這個想法?如何平衡家庭與畫畫?
新家確實花了不少功夫去建設,我是當成作品去營造的,新家和工作室放在了一起,這樣既節省了時間成本又把藝術創作和自我生活融為一體,按照我期待的生活方式安排的空間關係,我沒有去粉飾表面的風格,從建築空間的使用功能本質上挖掘實際生活需求,這一份本質和我的繪畫標準非常一致──挖掘繪畫本質、挖掘人文精神,以人為本和建築家具的理念不盡相同,這也是希望當代建築到繪畫的核心體系。我追求的就是不囉嗦不拖泥帶水的繪畫表達,空間的營造也是如此,不修飾不追求過分完美,這也是巨匠與藝術的區別。我的繪畫是從家庭中體驗社會的,故此現在這兩個分離的陣營完全融為一體了。

 

7. 中國藝術市場近年蓬勃發展,備受國際重視。國內、外市場對中國當代藝術品的需求都在不斷增長,您如何看待現今的藝術市場?
中國藝術市場從2000年初至今蓬勃發展,從早期的飢渴性需求到現今有規劃性發展,經歷了商業與市場這一現實必經的市場規律,飢渴性的需求帶有盲目性,有規劃性帶有理性。我認為隨著中國經濟的騰飛,藝術品市場必定興旺,而藏家群體也更為專業,素養也在提升,針對藝術品的商業價值有了更為理性的挖掘。從收藏動機無論從投資還是身份的體現到個人的喜好都是巨大的空間,但是空間雖大也是大浪淘沙,這也就使得藝術家、商業機構、畫廊、拍賣整個產業鏈更加科學嚴謹專業。總之市場大了但一切機會都是給有準備的一方,這是中國藝術市場立足於國際領域的重要法則。

 

8. 有報告指75後85前的藝術家,是現今中國藝術市場崛起的新力量,您本人更是這股力量的佼佼者,對於成名後時常受到注目,面對公眾批評,您是怎樣面對的?
75後85前的藝術家是一個中國藝術家群體中承上啟下的階層,老一代已經綻放光芒,75後85前含苞待放,我認為備受關注不等於成熟,面對未來我們這一代已經有了多年的積累,把四十不惑的優勢盡情綻放,一件藝術品不可以面面俱到,如果面面俱到也就失去了藝術主體自身的魅力,這個階段就需要用成熟來為藝術加溫,總之我要抱有「感恩、本真、自信、堅守」這四個詞去面對未來的藝術道路。

 

9. 請問您如何看待這個世代的新藝術家?你認為该具備哪些特質才能引起世界藝術市場的關注?對於他們有甚麼寄語?
我一直認為這是一個束縛與自由的時代,我們不可以絕對的自由,完全自由也就失去了標準,過分的束縛也就失去了創作發展的本質,藝術品和藝術價值並不畫等號,很多藝術家可以創作很好的藝術品但無法有很好的商業價值,這是一把雙刃劍,作為職業藝術家需要以畫為生,他離不開商業價值但也不要被束縛,只有充分的看清這一問題才可以成為優秀的職業藝術家。希望這一時代的藝術家把握這一特質,在這已成型的邏輯體系裡發揮自己的藝術造詣,梵高的時代過去了,我們只能與梵高的精神同在卻又不可以失去自我價值的體現。

 

10. 對於第一次辦個人作品展,您感受如何?對這次展覽有甚麼期許?
對於我的個展我很興奮和期待,我有表達自我的熱情,也是我多年藝術創作的總結。希望我的藝術成果能夠和觀者對接上真正的頻道。也希望給已經收藏我作品的藏家一個藝術盛宴的回饋。

 

11. 您的作品成為不少投資者和收藏家的追求,他們都很期待您未來的作品,您有在構思下一個作品了嗎?能否透露下一個將會是甚麼類型的題材呢?
我總覺得我的創作生命才剛剛開始,總是對下一批作品抱有期待,我希望我的熱情可以感染到我的藏家們。我的創作構思都是在我的全部生活中提煉出來的,我會一直圍繞著我的人文哲學這一核心創作下去,通過不斷的積累將我的人文哲學形成一個巨大的拳頭,希望這個拳頭會在我的藝術到路上砸出痕跡,新的系列作品取名《視野》系列,畫面更加構成感及現代性。 《尋找光明》、《沉浮》、《視野》會成為我近三年的創作主線。

最新文章

請填寫以下表格,與我們聯絡,立即開始您的投資之旅。

立即開始 投資藝術品

Filed under

Wang Xiao Bo Hong Kong Exhibition Photos

Art Futures Group Interview with Wang Xiao Bo

 

1. This exhibition will showcase your latest works, including the Searching for Light and Sinking & Floating series. How did you conceive the two series and what message do you want to convey?
Searching for Light series depicts the search for light from a child’s perspective. It embodies the new-born’s aspirations for truth and the future, as well as my spontaneous approach to artistic creation. Sinking & Floating series looks at the vicissitude of life in a social context, using a fat woman to suggest a tongue-in-cheek narrative of the ups and downs in life. It is a philosophical reflection on the self in society.

 

2.You constantly reinvent your own style, from realism with more serious and iconoclastic subject matters, as seen in your early works such as Inverted Woman; Man Upside Down; and Two People’s World, to abstract in a figurative context and humorous style, likeThe Queen, Hidden Dreams, Like The First Time and other later works. So how do the latest Searching for Light and Sinking & Floating series differ from your past works in terms of subject matter and style? How would you describe these two series?
My current style is more painterly, as opposed to my early style that was more detailed. I think it’s hard to represent the essence and aura of the subject matter in a painting; I lacked the confidence to master the skills when I was young. So I tried to make up for it by focusing on the representation of details. Now at the mature age of 40, I am more confident in my ability to grasp the composition and essence of my painting. I am also more informed by my extensive experience of ongoing artistic creation, so my style seems more abstract-inclined and spontaneous now.

Searching for Light and Sinking & Floating are the extension of my reflection on humanistic philosophy. My early work Inverted Woman is a more iconoclastic representation of my criticism of social injustice and oppression, whereas Two People’s World coincided with my early stage of marriage. It was natural for me to explore the conjugal life in my paintings.

Now that I am father of two kids, I can observe childhood closely through my children and reflect on my own childhood in Searching for Light. Kids are curious about everything and they dream about their future – the common traits of mankind throughout evolution. The Sinking & Floating series is a retrospect to the first half of my life, using a fat woman as a metaphor for my expectations of society to express the latter’s influence on me and my value judgement of life. It offers food for thought in terms of humanistic philosophy.

So Sinking & Floating and Searching for Light are the continuation of my analysis of humanity and culture, and they are an important milestone on my artistic pursuit of humanistic philosophy. By observing the relationship between my personal living and society, I probe deep into the true essence of life.

 

3.The Searching for Light and Sinking & Floating series represent a reinvention of your art practice. How did it come to being? Have you encountered any difficulties during the process? How did you adapt to the change?
It was rather a probe than a reinvention. What seem like changes are just another way of probing into human nature; what seems like a conversion from realism to abstract is in fact a replacement of exploration with confidence. I think it is more a transformation than a mere change. It marks my transition to maturity. It is a palpable embodiment of my life journey, a kind of enlightenment that has dawned on me. But I think every artist would have to survive an arduous struggle in order to transform, like the imago shaking off the chrysalis violently to becoming a butterfly. The artist is a lonely creature; he is on his own in the artistic pursuit. There is no guideline for success, but transformation and progress are essential to artistic pursuit, maybe this is the charm and calling of the artist. Art is always awe-inspiring.

 

4.Although the subject matters have changed, your preference for human characters as key visual element remains. Why the interest in human characters? What kind of story do you want to tell through them?
It is fitting to express humanity through human characters. In my paintings, fat women, couples and children are metaphors that facilitate the free and comprehensive expression of my reflection on people and society and self-actualisation. Ever since my graduation from the Oil Department of China Central Academy of Fine Arts, I have been pursuing the artistic career with the humanistic spirit, which constitutes my artistic growth and outlook on life.

 

5. You are a disciple of Jin Shang Yi, Zhu Nai Zheng and Yan Fei Yun. How do senior artists influence your paintings and personal life?
From the three grand masters of contemporary Chinese oil painting, I have learned a lot from painting skills to different schools of painting and to moral standing. They have different styles but they share the same passion for illustrating their own humanistic philosophy through painting. It is natural for me to continue with their pursuit, which in turn is conducive to my own practice. They share the same belief in and advocacy of innovation through tradition, with strong disapproval of illogical creative freedom and expression of self-pity, which sheds light on my artistic pursuit.

 

6. Your new home was widely covered in the media lately. How did you come up with the idea of a dialogue between family life and art by bringing together a cosy home and an art studio? How do you juggle between family and painting?
I have invested a lot of energy in my new home as if it is my work of art. By bringing together the home and the studio (which, of course, helps save time on my commute), I can mesh artistic creation with my daily living in a layout design that fits my own way of living. I stripped away the decorative elements to probe into the essence of my actual daily needs by way of the functionality of architectural space – an approach that chimes with my artistic vision of probing into the essence of painting and humanity. Granted, contemporary painting and architecture are not exactly the same, but the gauging of humanity and its essence is at the core of both disciplines. What I want for my painting is a straight-forward narrative, and the same goes for space-making – I prefer crudeness over obsession with perfection, and that is what marks out masterpieces in art. My paintings look at society from the lens of family, so now I can have these two separate entities coming together as one.

 

7. The art market in China has risen to prominence in recent years. There are increasing demands for contemporary Chinese art, domestically and internationally. What does the current art market mean to you?
The art market in China has come a long way since 2000. It has gone from a total buying frenzy in the early stage, to currently picking-up a more planned pace of development. Commercialisation is an inevitable market pattern, where buying frenzy and planned development are the irrational and rational manifestation of it respectively. With the soaring Chinese economy, I think the art market must flourish, which in turn spurs collectors to become more professional and cultivated, that is, to be more rational about the market value of artworks. The demands for art are huge, whether as investment or a symbol of status or personal taste, but so is competition. In this sense, the whole industry, including artists, agencies, galleries and auction houses, must equip themselves with professionalism and scientific observation. After all, market opportunities only come to those who are prepared, however large the market may be – this is an important principle for Chinese art market to gain a footing in the international arena.

 

8. A report indicates that artists born between 1975 and 85 are emerging in the Chinese art market. As one of the prominent figures of this generation, how do you cope with fame and criticism?
Artists born between 1975 and 85 have now reached the intermediate stage, and are now looking to follow the path of the accomplished senior artists. I think being in the spotlight does not necessarily mean that you are at a mature stage. Now that my generation has amassed a deep reservoir of experience in our 40s, we can give full play to the advantage in our artistic pursuit. There is no such thing as a well-rounded artwork; the notion itself disregards the subjective allure of art. At this stage, I need to give art a mature touch. I will go on with my artistic pursuit holding dear to my heart four principles of being grateful, authentic, confident and persistent.

 

9. How do you describe the new generation artists? What attributes must an artist possess to arouse interests in the global art market? What is your advice for them?
I always think that this is an age of restraint and freedom. We cannot enjoy absolute freedom at the expense of principle, but too many restraints kill creativity. The quality and market value of an artwork does not necessarily have a positive correlation. There are artists who create good works that do not sell. This is a double-edged sword: as a professional artist, one needs to make a living with his artworks. He can neither disregard market value nor be bounded by it. You need to understand this reality in order to become an outstanding professional artist. I hope new generation artists can have a good grasp of it, so as to unleash their potential fully in the context of this institutionalised logic. The age of Van Gogh has long gone, we can only live with the spirit of Van Gogh while clinging to our own values.

 

10. How do you think about your upcoming first solo exhibition? What are your expectations?
I am very excited about it and I really look forward to it. I have a passion for self-expression, and the exhibition is a retrospect to my artistic career so far. I hope my works can engage the audience in a fruitful dialogue. I would also like to give back to those who have collected my works with a feast of art in the exhibition.

 

11. Your works are coveted by many investors and collectors who anticipate your works to come. Are you working on your next project? Could you tell me about the subject matter of it?
I have a feeling that my creative journey has just begun. I always have great expectations of my next work and I hope my passion can impress my collectors. I draw inspiration from all aspects of my life, and I will continue to build my works around my humanistic philosophy which, I hope, will culminate in a powerful impact on my pursuit of art. My next series, entitled Visual Field, will deal with composition and modernity. So in the next three years, I will focus on three series, namely Searching for Light, Sinking & Floating and Visual Field.

Latest Articles

Start your art investment journey now. Contact us using the form below.

Get started today.